Correa Wood Works
Craftsman furniture featuring full integral mortise and tenon joinery. 100% solar powered!

Upcoming projects.

I am currently working on a brochure for my furniture but in the interim I have been kicking around a few designs. The next project on deck is a pair of side tables which feature two drawers and several bent laminations (pending a few things). The basic design is as follows:

Velvet mesquite cabinet with an Arizona walnut stand. The curved laminations run along the front face only and will require hand cut through dovetails for the drawer front.

The curve is more evedent from the side. The drawing does not illustrate the dovetail joints but they are going to be used to assemble the cabinet carcass.

You can also see the very gentle curve from the top down. Just enough to catch your eye but not enough to take away from the rest of the piece.

After the end tables are completed I am going to begin work on a pair of walnut high back dining chairs.

I have admired the designs of Sam Maloof for as long as I have known of them. One of the chairs which at first glance I found a bit odd was his low back dining chair.

Over time it has become one of my favorite pieces and I am going to use his joinery as a basis for a high back dining chair. Using  templates from Charles Brock’s Maloof copy will make this piece much more accessible.

I do not wish to copy the maloof design but rather use it as a starting point for my own sculpted high back dining chair. I cant begin to imagine drawing this in sketchup so you will have to bear with me until the piece begins to come together.

-Sam

No Responses to “Upcoming projects.”

Leave a comment